The Arts Society, Chiswick

The Arts Society, Chiswick holds lectures on the second Thursday of every month (except August and December). Lectures start at 8.00pm.

The lectures are held in the Malinova Room at The Polish Centre (POSK), 238-246 King Street, Hammersmith, London W6 0RF.

The Arts Society, Chiswick is one of 26 Arts Societies in Greater London, and 385 across the UK and continental Europe, with sister organisations in Australia and New Zealand. The aim is ‘to bring people together through a shared curiosity for the arts’. Members enjoy their shared passion for the arts at lectures and on cultural trips, but they also work as volunteers on heritage conservation projects, recording church art and artefacts and in a variety of educational and grant programmes involving young people.

The Arts Society, Chiswick has a programme of lectures throughout the year on the second Thursday of every month (except August and December) at The Polish Centre (POSK), 238-246 King Street, Hammersmith.
Thursday 11 January
Vienna Secession 1918-2018: Gustav Klimt & Egon Schiele
Thursday 8 February
Galla Placidia: the Empress and the Fall of Rome
Thursday 8 March
Shakespeare: the Birth of Modern Show Business
Thursday 12 April
The Age of Modern Jazz
Thursday 10 May
Zaha Hadid – architectural superstar
Thursday 14 June
The Masterpieces of Russian Opera, from Boris Godunov to Lady Macbeth of Mtsensk
Thursday 12 July
The Magnificence of Persia: the art of Isfahan, Shiraz and ancient Persepolis
Thursday 20 September
The Splendours of the City Churches
Thursday 11 October
Played in London – charting the Heritage of a City at Play
Thursday 8 November
Food & Art through the Ages: From Renaissance Sugar Sculpture to 3D printing

The Arts Society, Chiswick website